How big is each Hawaiian island? What is the population of each?


There are over 140 islands that make up the state of Hawaii, but tourists only visit the six largest islands. Here are the eight largest in order of size.

Island Area – Square Miles Population – 2010 census
Hawaii 4028 185,079
Maui 727 144,444
Oahu 597 953,207
Kauai 552 66,921
Molokai 260 7,345
Lanai 141 3,135
Niihau 70 170
Kahoolawe 45 0


The largest eight islands are in order of size in the above table. Those same islands in order of population are Oahu (including the city of Honolulu), Hawaii (often called “The Big Island”), Maui, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, Niihau, Kahoolawe.

Click for info about flights between the Hawaiian islands.

Thinking of planning a trip to Maui?

Maui Hawaii sections of this website explained here

Maui Hotels and Maui Condos choices are here

Maui Car Rentals discount tips on this page

Things to Do in Maui are at this link

Copyright © 1998-2015 Jon Blum. All rights reserved.